Sale!

Brand NEW – SMALL TREASONS A Novel by Mark Powell HC – 382 Pages

$13.99 $13.29

3 in stock

Category:

Description

Brand New HC Book with Dust Jacket – SMALL TREASONS A Novel by Mark Powell.SynopsisFour people’s lives converge as they re consumed by the dangers of world, both real and imagined Mark Powell has been hailed as “one of the best novelists of his generation” by Ron Rash and “a writer on the verge of greatness” by Pat Conroy. For fans of Adam Johnson’s Fortune Smiles and Denis Johnson’s The Laughing Monsters Echolocation tackles big questions of our time through characters who are startlingly real Tess is a stay-at-home mother who has developed an odd obsession: watching terrorist ransom videos online. In particular, she’s become fixated on an American journalist being held by ISIS. Her husband John is more distant than ever, and in her isolation she finds an eerie resonance between the journalist’s captivity and her own. John is haunted by his past: a dead wife, an estranged daughter, a murky career path. Now employed at a small college in Georgia, he is rattled when a former associate, James Stone, approaches him with a favor, or rather, a demand. John’s colleague Professor Edward Hadawi is being investigated by the FBI for his involvement with an extremist religious group, and if John doesn’t turn over files from their shared hard drive, he may finally face repercussions for his own questionable work at Site Nine years earlier. James is looking for Hadawi and Reed Sharma, a young man who has fallen under his spell. Tormented by the part he’s played in entrapping countless youth on the edge, James will stop at nothing to find the boy and assuage his conscience.,In this thrilling new novel for fans of Adam Johnson’s Fortune Smiles and Denise Johnson’s The Laughing Monsters , four people’s lives converge as they are consumed by the dangers of the world, both real and imagined. Tess is a stay-at-home mother who has developed an odd obsession: watching terrorist ransom videos online. She’s become fixated on one in particularan American journalist being held by ISIS. Her husband, John, is more distant than ever, and in her isolation Tess finds an eerie resonance between the journalist’s captivity and her own. John is haunted by his past: dead wife, an estranged daughter, a murky career path. Now employed at a small college in Georgia, he is rattled when a former associate, James Stone, approaches him with a favoror rather, a demand. John’s colleague, Professor Edward Hadawi, is being investigated by the FBI for his involvement with an extremist religious group, and if John doesn’t turn over files from their shared hard drive, he may finally face repercussions for his own questionable work at Site Nine years earlier. James is looking for Hadawi and Reed Sharma, a young man who has fallen under his spell. Tormented by the part he’s played in entrapping countless youth on the edge, James will stop at nothing to find the boy and assuage his conscience. Beautifully written and featuring authentic characters, this is an astonishing and powerful novel about the search for meaning in an increasingly violent and divided world.,With writing that is both devastating and tender, Mark Powell brings his acclaimed eye to an American marriage on the verge of rupture, spinning an all-too-current tale of the world we live in and the world we fearand how we may not be able to tell the two apartperfect for fans of Adam Johnson’s Fortune Smiles and Denise Johnson’s The Laughing Monsters . Tess Maynard is coming apart. At home with her three young children in her husband’s Georgia hometown, people keep asking if she’s depressed, if she and John are okay. Secretly, she’s becoming obsessed with the war on terroran ISIS beheading video in particular. Something about the victim’s captivity on the computer screen resonates with her. Something inside of her demands endless prayers for a world gone mad. The carefully constructed life of her husband is likewise beginning to unravel. Now a college counselor, John’s former life bears persistently into the present. Once a contractor at a CIA black site that interrogated suspected terroristsand one innocent civilianhe is given a choice by the Justice Department: either help with a problem in the homeland, or they investigate. Forced by an old colleague to spy on a new one, John’s experiences abroad come home to roost in Georgia. For his wife, for his family, he goes along with the game. But just as he and Tess work to salvage their life together, the world comes between them in the form of a young man slowly being radicalized by the professor John is reporting on. In a moment Tess imagined and never wanted to see, the intersection of their three lives is as devastating as the bomber’s explosion of hate and metal, and as inevitable as the battle between powers great and personal.Product IdentifiersISBN-101507203381ISBN-139781507203385eBay Product ID (ePID)234717179Key DetailsAuthorMark PowellNumber Of Pages384 pagesFormatHardcoverPublication Date2017-06-06LanguageEnglishPublisherAdams Media CorporationPublication Year2017Additional DetailsCopyright Date2017DimensionsWeight15.9 OzHeight1.1 In.Width5.5 In.Length8.4 In.Target AudienceGroupTradeClassification MethodLCCN2016-055727LC Classification NumberPS3616.O88E28 2017Dewey Decimal813/.6Dewey Edition23Reviews”A brilliant novelist at the top of his game. Echolocation achieves that rare balance between complexity and pacing, a story rich and intricate, propulsive and satisfying. Mark Powell has been the South’s best-kept secret for far too long.”,”Both richly regional and ambitiously international in scope, Echolocation probes the murky depths of a troubled marriage, moving between the personal and political with lyrical ease. Powell’s characters–flawed, contemplative, and viscerally alive–pine for meaningful communication as they struggle to ground their identities in a complex world. As intimate perspectives converge into a masterful plot, Echolocation delivers brutal truths about contemporary global politics–but not without a note of cautious hope.”,”Impossible to put down, Echolocation is the best work of Mark Powell’s young career, and brings all of his prodigious talents to bear on his most compelling story yet. An up-to-the-minute exploration of our political climate and the violence, both physical and emotional, that results from it.”,”This terrifying novel is a work of genius. I couldn’t stop reading it, but I had to adjust to the world inside the book, which unnerved me much more than my actual trips to Syria did. Be careful as you read it, but for God’s sake, read it. Powell is something else. Whew.”

Additional information

Weight 2.00 lbs
Dimensions 13 × 10 × 1 in
Year

Title/Series

Topic

Author

Modified Item

Country/Region of Manufacture

Subject

Region

Special Attributes

,

Publication Year

Language

Format